Fast Sing Up to receive Free and Discounted e-Books.
Sentence of Marriage
Sentence of Marriage

Sentence of Marriage


3.90 (4 ratings)

“I won’t have her forced,” Jack said. “Let her decide for herself.”

Amy knew her father meant it. She could say no if she wanted. But this marriage would make everything all right. They could put all the trouble she had caused behind them. Everyone would be happy again.

Everyone except her.

“Sentence of Marriage” is the first book in the three-volume “Promises to Keep”.

In nineteenth century New Zealand, there are few choices for a farm girl like Amy. Her life seems mapped out for her by the time she is twelve. Amy dreams of an exciting life in the world beyond her narrow boundaries. But it is the two people who come to the farm from outside the valley who change her life forever, and Amy learns the high cost of making the wrong choice.

"One of the best historical novels I’ve had the pleasure to read in years." - WorkingGirl Reviews.

"The story was captivating, the characters real, the dialogue crisp. I admit to having cried and laughed and even having wanted to murder a character and beat another one within an inch of his life — which is simply a testament to how well written these books are." - AmericanEditor.



Writing is very simple. Weak story line.

Tammy Watts
Sorry not my purchase

Sorry not my purchase

Sue B
Interesting story

Even though you might know where the story is headed it is nicely written and a good read. Have to move on to next in the series!

Lois H. Fuller
Don't expect bookmarks!

Amazon no longer provides access to your bookmarks! You can set up bookmarks all you want, but then you can't find them. That's how much Amazon cares about its customers! If I could use a lower rating than 1, I would.

Mary S
Kept your interest

This book kept your interest. It takes place in the 1700's when woman had no rights which is why the main character was forced into a loveless marriage and her husband got away with beating her. The ending leaves you hanging and there are three other books in the series so be aware you may have to purchase all four to find out how it all ends.