Fast Sing Up to receive Free and Discounted e-Books.
Peace Lily: Book Two in The Katherine Wheel Series
Peace Lily: Book Two in The Katherine Wheel Series

Peace Lily: Book Two in The Katherine Wheel Series


4.60 (340 ratings)

Peace Lily is the sequel to DAFFODILS and book two of the 'Katherine Wheel' saga.
After the appalling losses suffered during the First World War, three of its survivors long for peace, unaware that its aftermath will bring different, but still daunting, challenges.
Katy trained as a mechanic during the war and cannot bear to return to the life of drudgery she left behind. A trip to America provides the dream ticket she has always craved and an opportunity to escape the strait-jacket of her working class roots. She jumps at the chance, little realising that it will change her life forever, but not in the way she’d hoped.
Jem lost not only an arm in the war, but also his livelihood, and with it, his self esteem. How can he keep restless Katy at home and provide for his wife? He puts his life at risk a second time, attempting to secure their future and prove his love for her.
Cassandra has fallen deeply in love with Douglas Flintock, an American officer she met while driving ambulances at the Front. How can she persuade this modern American to adapt to her English country life, and all the duties that come with inheriting Cheadle Manor? When Douglas returns to Boston, unsure of his feelings, Cassandra crosses the ocean, determined to lure him back.
As they each try to carve out new lives, their struggles impact on each other in unforeseen ways in this heartbreaking romance.
Peace Lily is about the boundaries between traditional values and the modern age of the 20th century, between men and women, young and old and, in post-war 1919, these are tested as never before.
A third book, SPEEDWELL, takes the characters into the daring arena of motor racing in the 1920s and Katy's defiant bid for independence. Book Four, WILLOW, (novella-sized) bridges the gap between the generations as the children of Cassandra and Douglas, Jem and Katy embark on a summer adventure that goes disastrously wrong with dire consequences. The four children, Lottie and Isobel, Al and Lily, are on the brink of adulthood and the outbreak of the Second World War in Book Five, WOODBINE. Their lives separate as they are each forced to follow different paths through the war. Lottie is stranded in occupied France after a bitter family feud and gets drawn into the French Resistance; Al faces many dangers as he flies planes for the ATA, and Isobel, torn between duty and love, becomes a Land Girl. Can they come back together in Book Six, IVY? You must read the final book in The Katherine Wheel Series to find out how the whole saga reaches its dramatic and satisfying conclusion.



I loved the second book in this series. I love books. And when I start a series it must interest me within the first chapter of the first book. This series so far has been excellent

Loved It!

Couldn’t put this book down! The characters were so real and well developed . Such a great plot. Can’t wait to read the rest of this series.

Avid reader review finished.

Another one I couldn't put down . So looking forward to starting the third one. I have to find out what happens to both of the main couples.

Kindle Customer
Liked this series


E. Ferreira
Interesting book

I really enjoyed this book. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys historical fiction. I look forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.

Amazon Customer
Great Read

Great series

Kindle Customer
Love the series

Enjoyed every book in the Katherine wheel series ! Didn’t want it to end

Amazon Customer
What a wonderful series!

I loved the first book of this series so much that I didn’t really think this one would be as good. But it was and I can’t wait for the next in the series. What wonderful, believable characters in a time when change is mounting at a rapid pace. Brilliant writing!